Last Monday, June 19, the Public Closing Session of the mobilizing project CityCatalyst – Catalyst for sustainable cities, led by Efacec and co-financed by Compete2020, was held.

The event took place at CEiiA, in Matosinhos, and the opening of the session was in charge of Nuno Silva, Chief Technology Officer of Efacec, and Sandra Melo, Project Manager of CEiiA.

This session aimed to showcase new technological solutions and innovative services that enhance integrated urban management, more efficient and effective, and a catalyst for innovation and sustainable development, with a direct impact on energy efficiency, mobility and the environment, always contributing the sustainability and well-being of citizens.

After an overview of the project by Fernando Xavier, from Efacec, and presentation of each of the five PPSs (Product, Process and Services) by the respective managers, the session included the demonstration and validation, in a real urban environment, of the technologies and tools developed in four municipalities (Aveiro, Famalicão, Guimarães and Porto), headed by:

  • Filipe Cabral Pinto (ALTICE LABS) and Susana Sargento (Universidade de Aveiro) – Aveiro;
  • Lara Nunes (NOS) and Rui Ribeiro (Centro de Computação Gráfica) – Famalicão;
  • Beatriz Barateiro and André Duarte (UBIWHERE) – Guimarães;
  • Paulo Calçada (Porto Digital) – Porto

The event was closed by Vasco Lagarto (TICE.PT) and Mário Campolargo (Secretary of State for Digitalization and Administrative Modernization), who made the final intervention.

CityCatalyst represented an eligible investment of 7.9 million euros and was developed between 2020 and 2023, by the consortium led by Efacec and composed of the co-promoters Altice Labs, S.A., PROEF EURICO FERREIRA PORTUGAL S.A., INOVA+, Innovation Services S.A., Ubiwhere, Lda., HLTSYS – HEALTHYSYSTEMS, ADYTA, LDA, Jscrambler, SA, NOS COMUNICAÇÕES, S.A., Associação Porto Digital , Associação Porto Business School – UPORTO, CEiiA – Centro de Engenharia e Desenvolvimento, Associação Fraunhofer Portugal Research, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Associação CCG/ZGDV – Centro Computação Gráfica, Instituto de Telecomunicações, Universidade do Porto – C3P – Centro de Competências em Cibersegurança e Privacidade da Universidade do Porto, INESC TEC – Instituto de Engenharia de Sistemas e Computadores, Tecnologia e Ciência, Associação para o Pólo das Tecnologias de Informação, Comunicação e Eletrónica TICE.PT, Universidade do Porto – Faculdade de Engenharia.